MY FORBIDDEN FRUIT

You think I don’t see how succulent you´ve grown,

How fresh you glow like well tendered plums?

You think I don’t smell that fragrance of nectar,

That smell of bloom from a whiff on your skin?

You think I don’t feel that drive that pushed

Adam to eat from his forbidden fruit?

Your skin, so firm, light, silky fresh

The only illustration of eternal youth.

 

And did I forget to say I know

That you beat all King Solomon´s wealth?

That all the birds that sing at dawn

Only echo memories of what you dreamt?

But like Cain bore that scornful mark,

I endure my curse in solitude.

For all the sons who roam this earth,

Only I cannot possess your worth.

 

´My sister ´ Do I smile at the thought

Or frown at the gift that nature gave?

We spent our childhood in the grass

And chased birds out our guava tree;

I´ve seen you cry, I´ve shared your joys,

The only friend I´ve always known.

But nature in its irony

Has made you my forbidden fruit.

Leave a comment